Cucumber Chutney / Vellarikkai Thuvaiyal

My MIL saw this in a cookery program in Jaya TV and asked me to give this a try. I tried this…and I thought it was a ‘cool’ way to add cucumber to our diet in this scorching summer. This chutney tasted too yummy…

wpid-wp-1430206755319 (640x427)

Cucumber Chutney / Vellarikkai Thuvaiyal

Ingredients :

1 medium sized cucumber-deseeded

1 tomato

1 onion

3 tsp gingelly oil

3-4 red chillies

1 tsp urad dhal

Few coriander leaves (optional)

salt as required

Method:

  1. Chop cucumber into large pieces. Make sure that the cucumber is not bitter before you go ahead with the recipe.
  2. Chop onion and tomato into large pieces.
  3. In a pan add 3 tsp oil. Roast the chillies and urad dhal and keep aside.
  4. In the same pan saute onions, cucumber and tomato one by one.
  5. Cool and grind in the mixie into a smooth paste. Serve with idly/dosa.

May 13, 2015. Tags: , , . Chutney, Healthy Recipe, Sidedish.

2 Comments

  1. gayathri replied:

    Hi..first time to your blog..lovely blog with amazing recipes..
    If you get chance, visit my blog too – http://foodybuddy.net
    Actually I saw your blog.in kumudam snehidhi food blogger section…great to see fellow bloggers in magazine…I do sent my recipes to the snehidhi email id..just curious..how long will they take to reply and to publish ..this is my mail id..can you reply for me..foodybuddy7@gmail.com
    Thanks,
    Gayathri

    • hema replied:

      Hi Gayathri, thank you for visiting my blog. Will visit your blog definitely… Will mail you back

Leave a comment

Trackback URI