My 50th Post -Eggless Golden Cake With Walnut Topping – Made In Pressure Cooker

I didn’t plan it, but somehow, my cake recipe turns out to be my 50th post – it’s a milestone!!! It is almost two years since I started this blog. I have been slow and steady , but with home, work and my little one, I am happy that I am able to keep this thing going 🙂

So for I have made only one cake – Eggless chocolate cake – that too in pressure cooker since I don’t own an oven. It is a good recipe and comes out successfully everytime. I was eager to try out some other cake recipe in pressure cooker.

As I was  going through Priya Sriram’s  page Bon appetite, this cake caught my eye. I loved the topping but my family didn’t want a chocolate cake again. So I selected another eggless cake from Priya, who had tried it from Anushruti’s blog Divinetaste. Both were baking recipes, but I tried them in my pressure cooker.

The cake turned out soft and flavourful, with the walnuts adding to the taste. But the walnut layer was not crispy as in the original recipe, which is probably due to steaming instead of baking, but it was tasty nevertheless. I never had idea that custard powder could be used in a cake. Thank  you Priya and Anushruti. This recipe is sure a keeper.

I am sending this recipe as an entry to ‘Lets cook’ kids special at tickling palates and also ”Kid’s Delight – Evening Snacks/Tiffin” event at ‘cooks joy’ originally started by Valli of Spiceyour life.

Eggless Golden Cake With Walnut Topping – Made In Pressure Cooker

Ingredients:

For the cake batter:

1 cup milk

¾ cup sugar

1 ½ cup refined flour

½ cup custard powder ( vanilla flavor )

2 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla extract

½ cup refined oil

For the walnut topping:

½ cup sugar

50 g vanaspati

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 cup refined flour

1 tsp baking powder

½ cup milk

4 tbsp walnuts – chopped and roasted

Method:

For the cake:

  1. A 7 inch cake pan is recommended for this recipe.
  2. First heat the milk and dissolve the sugar in it. Allow it to cool to room temperature.
  3. To this add custard powder and vanilla essence and mix well.
  4. To this add the refined oil and beat well.
  5. Sift together  flour, baking powder and baking soda. Add this to the milk and whisk with a spoon .

For the topping:

  1. Beat sugar and vanaspathi till you get a fluffy mix.
  2. Add vanilla essence and mix well.
  3. Sift together baking powder and flour. Add to sugar + vanaspathi mix and beat well.
  4. Add milk little by little till a sticky dough consistency is reached.

Let's Cook - Kids Special

 

 

 

 

 

 

The steaming method for this cake is same as that I have described for my chocolate cake.

  • Pour the cake batter into the greased pan and steam in pressure cooker without weight.
  •  After  10 minutes open the lid. Spread the topping mix on the cake and sprinkle the walnuts.
  • Continue steaming till the cake is done (30-35 minutes).
  • Enjoy your cake with evening tea or anytime snack.
June 28, 2012. Tags: , , . Cakes, Sweet/dessert.

6 Comments

  1. Vardhini Koushik replied:

    Pressure cooker sounds interesting and the cake looks yummy. Congrats on your 50th post.

    Vardhini
    Event: Kid’s Delight

  2. Priya Sreeram (@priyasreeram) replied:

    never tried making a cake in pressure cooker- looks well done. Thanks for lthe mention Hema

  3. Priya Sreeram (@priyasreeram) replied:

    BTW congrats on your 50th post

    • hema replied:

      Thank you very much Priya 🙂
      I follow your blog regularly…great work 🙂

  4. Janani replied:

    I am hungry looking at this.super click.I have sent you a n award plz collect it from my site http://www.redchillycurry.com click the award tab.Love to share this with you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

