Capsicum Semiya Upma

I have always liked semiya ( vermicelli ) upma. My mother makes it with lot of veggies. It was a comfort food for me and my brother and it was available anytime at home. Recently I asked my hubby if I can make semiya upma for dinner. His reply was like – Semiya! That white, sticky, bland thing…yuck! But when he tasted my version – I can’t say that the became an instant fan… But at least he commented that – hey! This is good…and it has vegetables in it.Here is my recipe for capsicum semiya upma.

I am  sending this recipe to Dish name starts with:C hosted by Akila of Akila’s kitchen.

 

Capsicum Semiya Upma

Ingredients:

3 cups semiya/vermicelli ( I always use bambino )

6 cups water

1 green capsicum

1 yellow capsicum

Handful of green peas ( fresh )

1 medium sized onion sliced finely

2 green chillies chopped finely

1/2 tsp mustard seeds

1 tsp urad dhal

1 tsp Bengal gram

1 tsp peanuts ( optional )

2 sprigs curry leaves

2 tbsp oil

Salt as required

Method:

  1. Dry roast the semiya and keep aside.
  2. Cut the capsicums into small pieces.
  3. Heat oil in the pan. Add mustard and urad dhal. After it splutters add bengal gram and peanuts and fry well. Now add onion, green chillies and curry leaves. Now add the capsicum pieces and saute well.
  4. Add 6 cups of water in the pan with required salt. Once it comes to boil add the green peas and semiya. Keep the stove in sim mode till the semiya is cooked. Serve with pickle or sugar.
November 9, 2010. Tags: , . Tiffin.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

