Onion Vadagam Chutney/Vengaya Vadaga Thuvaiyal

This chutney is one of my mom’s specialty and as per her words favourite of my grandpa. Onion vadagams  ( will try to post recipe soon ) are made in bulk in summer season. For now I am giving the link of this recipe by Kamala of  Cookat ease.

Onion vadagams can be deep fried and had with rice and rasam. They can also be used as an alternative to vegetables in puli kuzhambu/vatha kuzhambu. They can be used for tempering sambhar, keerai kadainchathu and also in kootanchoru which is once again a nellai special.You can make a spicy chutney as well using these vadagams.

Sending this recipe for CMT-Chutney event hosted by Jagruti of  Joy of cooking 247.

 

This is how onion vadagams look like…

 

 

Onion Vadagam Chutney

Ingredients:

4-5 no small size onion vadagams

marble size tamarind

3 red chillies

1 tbsp urad dhal

salt to taste

2 tsp oil

Method:

  1. Heat 1 tsp of oil in the pan.Fry red chillies without burning.Roast the urad dhal till you get a nice aroma.
  2. Heat the remaining 1 tsp oil.Break the onion vadagam into small pieces and fry them well.
  3. Cool and grind with tamarind and salt to get tasty onion vadagam chutney. This is a great combination for mulu ulundhu dosai/whole urad dhal dosa. Tastes good with idly and other dosas too.
October 10, 2010. Tags: , , , , . Chutney, Nellai Samaiyal, Sidedish.

8 Comments

  1. Jagruti replied:

    Thanks for the entry..lovely and tasty chutney !

  2. Nithiyaa replied:

    Hi Hema,

    Thanks for the nice receipes .. whether u could get onion vadagam receipes.. I am looking forward for the receipe…

    Thanks
    Nithiyaa

    • hema replied:

      Thank you Nithiyaa, will try to post the recipe for onion vadagams soon…

  3. top hat replied:

    First off I want to say wonderful blog! I had a
    quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I have had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Thanks!

  4. Radha replied:

    Whenever I read your posts I DROOL!
    You can tell this food is so flavorful compared to my useless food.
    I can’t believe you take such care and detail to achieving taste
    And present tamil cooking so nicely.

    • hema replied:

      Thank you for your lovely comments Radha,
      I think when you cook with love for your family, every thing turns out good.
      BTW…why do you always tell that your food is useless..you can always change the way you cook..

  5. Radha replied:

    To be honest I feel those who have deep connection to nature have more flavorful food. When you live an urban lifestyle far from the agri “culture”
    I don’t have access to quality ingredients, biodiversity and wise elders to guide. I am a horrible cook struggling to learn the authentic ways. The culture of urban centers is high pressure, we eat for speed to get eating over with fast not for genuine taste but contrived/gimmicky taste.
    We eat like cars getting fueled up for gas at the pump, with the meter running, if our eating meter exceeds thirty minutes we have to stop.

    I’m often ridiculed for not cooking fast enough and for taking interest in cooking. Girls these days are discouraged for taking interest in any arts or intellectual matters of the home. I have always been fascinated with cooking, but get only discouragement for it and so my food suffers along with that.

    My aunt brought back some black ball from India. It looked like spices and herbs roasted, pounded then sun dried by I assume a villager. I never seen such, but it gave great taste. It looks similar to this vadagam. Maybe it was a vadagam? I wish I knew how to make one.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

